Principal Investigator – Dr Christian Nielsen

christian-nielsen-hi-res-croppedChristian received his PhD from the University of Copenhagen in Denmark in 2004. He has since held academic and industrial research positions in the US and the UK, most recently as a research fellow at Imperial College London working on organic electronics with an emphasis on materials design for FET and OPV applications.  Christian Nielsen joined Queen Mary University of London in April 2016 and is jointly affiliated with the Materials Research institute and the School of Biological and Chemical Sciences.

Profile on Google Scholar

Postdoctoral Research Assistant – Dr Meng Wang

meng wangMeng was born and grew up in Hebei, China. He obtained his B.S. degree in chemistry and PhD degree in organic chemistry from the College of Chemistry & Environmental Science, Hebei University in 2011 and the Fujian Institute of Research on the Structure of Matter, Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2016, respectively. After being a Postdoc Fellow in the Hong Kong Polytechnic University for one year, he becomes a Postdoctoral Research Assistant in the School of Biological and Chemical Sciences. His previous research interests focused on both organic synthesis and organic solar cell fabrication. He is currently working on the development of new organic thermoelectric materials.

2nd Year PhD Student – Zachary Parr

ZSP.jpgZach grew up in a small town in the north of England and had a keen interest in science since an early age, probably due to an over exposure to Sci-Fi and documentary channels. Having owned several chemistry sets much to his delight and the despair of his family he chose to go on to read an undergraduate in chemistry. Zach studied his MChem at Cardiff University, and thankfully refined his scientific method from those early experiments. His project focused on Frustrated Lewis Pairs for activation of unsaturated C-C bonds.

He is currently working on solution processable p-type semiconducting polymers and small molecules for use in OECT devices for use as sensors in bioelectronics. As a caveat he also hopes to develop a library of molecules and transformations which allow building of myriad molecules, monomers and polymers through cutting edge transformations like C-H activation. These molecules should be soluble and easily processed as well as functionalised and tuned to the requirements of the application. The reactions he hopes to use are not only efficient and clean but also avoid more toxic processes which often limits uptake of molecules in biological applications and industry.

2nd Year PhD Student – Zhijie Guo


Zhijie was born and raised at Inner Mongolia, China and did his undergraduate study at College of Chemistry, Jilin University, China. He received master of science degree at College of Chemistry, Northeast Normal University, China and was a visiting student of State Key Laboratory of Polymer Physics and Chemistry, Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry Chinese Academy of Sciences (Sep.2013-Sep.2015). Zhijie is a computer nerd who loves playing computer and video games.

Zhijie is working on the synthesis and characterisation of organic small molecules for the application of organic electrochemical transistor: chemical synthesis of biocompatible pi-conjugated molecules and polymers that have both the anticipated electronic properties as well as the desired biological relevant properties such as swellability, ionic transport and chemically reactive grafting sites.

 1st Year PhD Student – Pete Finn

pete finn

Pete was born in Cambridge and grew up in the surrounding area. He obtained his MChem from the University of East Anglia where in his masters year he worked on thiophene capped silicon nanoparticles for thermolelectric materials. Pete then worked at Cambridge Display Technology for 2 years, as a technical assistant, where he worked on thin film white OLEDs for large area lighting. Now he is currently working on materials for ionic-organic ratchets, thermoelectrics and other energy harvesting devices.

MSci Student – Hussain Thoha
MSci Student – Asha Hersi (joint with Matteo Palma)

Past Group Members

Benjamin Poggi (MSc internship 2017)
Ellasia Tan (MSci 2016-2017)
Folusho Helen Balogun (MSci 2016-2017; joint with Matteo Palma)